Photography: How Much Must You Pay to Get Good Pictures?


Recently I spent rather more than I should have for a very blue Canon point and shoot compact. Today I used it to snap this shot of a clematis bloom in my garden…

“Hmm,” thought I, “that’s very nice, but did I really need a fancy 20 megapixel to photograph a simple flower?” And the reason I had this thought was because earlier in the day, when the sun was a little less forthcoming, I’d spotted the same flower. The first camera that fell to hand was a Sony Cybershot of a mere 3.2 megapixel capability. The resultant picture looked exactly like this…

Okay, the former can stand a whole lot more zooming in before it pixellates; but if you just want an accurate representation of your subject, the latter is actually better. The mauve in the Sony shot is a closer match to the real thing than the Canon shot. And how much did I pay for this wondrous piece of ancient digital technology? Nothing: some silly sod had thrown it away – probably because it was old and out of date. And I picked it up. I wonder how much they paid for its replacement.

 

About Tooty Nolan

Writer of silly tales, taker of pictures, and all round good egg
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photography: How Much Must You Pay to Get Good Pictures?

  1. I use my phone for all my photos now, and use filters for everything that’s wrong with them–carrying a camera around is just too much hassle,and I don’t think I’ll ever take up serious photography– so, I’m ok with being a mediocre photographer. A good camera does make a difference, though.

    • Tooty Nolan says:

      I have tried camera phones but I find them too finicky. Too unreliable. I have to use one professionally too, and I never like to mix business with pleasure. So for me it will always be a proper camera – even if I do find it in a pile of garbage.

Leave a Reply

