Photography: Fair Weather or Foul?


Like most people, I’m far more likely to pick up my camera on a sunny day than on a dull day. But when the weather takes that extra step, and produces precipitation, I’m apt to rummage through the bottom of my wardrobe for something with a lens on one side, and a little rectangle of light on the opposite. On this particular day it was peeing down, and since I had bugger-all else to do (not counting that damned novel of course) I poked my camera out of my bedroom window to see if there was anything interesting outside in the rain. Far away, at the western end of the valley, an electricity pylon protruded above the tree line. Here it is on maximum zoom…

distant pylon

And a neighbour’s chimney looked kind of nice ( I like chimneys, okay?)…

distant chimney

…especially in its little hat. And not a stone’s throw distant a soggy treetop beckoned…

treetop and drizzle

But later the weather front moved on, and normalcy resumed. The contrast, I thought, was quite distinct. So out came the camera again…

jul10c 001

jul10c 005

jul10e 001

And I thought: “I dunno, I’m not sure that the sunny shots are any better than the miserable grey ones.”

How about you?

You know, the next time the weather turns foul, I think I might go on  one of my Woods Wanders: it could make for some interesting piccies. But how do I aim and press the shutter whilst holding an umbrella? Grow a third arm, I guess.

 

About Tooty Nolan

Writer of silly tales, taker of pictures, and all round good egg
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Photography: Fair Weather or Foul?

  1. Jayne Higgs says:

    Well….I can always join you on your travels.I’ll hold the umbrella while you click merrily away.Ha ha.Love all those photos, although I like the chimney when the sun was out.Nice.

  2. Jayne Higgs says:

    Me.I would have one of those golfing umbrellas.Theres always room for two under one of those.Sounds fun…lol x

  3. Jayne Higgs says:

    Yeah!.You could have one of those little portable tents that fishamen use, sometimes for night fishing.Keep you dry in between photo shoots.I’ll bring a flask of tea and some sticky buns.You might not get much photography done…Fun! X

  4. Jayne higgs says:

    By the way.I was only having a laugh with you.Your a married man.Leave that to someone else

  5. Jayne Higgs says:

    Bet she don’t know half

  6. Jayne higgs says:

    Lol… Really!!

  7. Jayne Higgs says:

    37 years.He actually sold his car and brought a motorbike . Yamaha RD 350, so we could save up and get married.We went everywhere on that bike.

  8. Jayne Higgs says:

    Air-cooled or the LC, not sure on that one.His never without a bike.last year he restored a Suzuki GT500.This year he decided to have the tank repainted in its original colour. Candy rose. OMG it’s beautiful.Now his brought a BMW for £400.His of to France on it the bank holiday weekend with his brother.

    • Tooty Nolan says:

      There are times when I wish I hadn’t given up bikes. Most of the time, actually. I still get Motorcycle News every week, and watch motocross and moto gp on the box. It will have to suffice.

  9. Love gloomy day photos! Adds a little mood to the photos. Then again, I personally tend to lean towards darker photos and concepts anyway. I say shoot both whenever you get a chance! 😊

  10. Jayne Higgs says:

    Air-cooled.He just told me.

    • Tooty Nolan says:

      My preferred bike. I had the later 400 version. It went like stink – for its day. An old dog by today’s standards, of course. But old Yams always turn my head.

Leave a Reply

