Please, God – Not Another Distraction!


Many have been the times when I have lamented my inability to write my books because of distractions. They are multifarious, and generally unavoidable. But recently I have created a distraction all my own, and for that I award myself the Total Tit of the Week award.

It all started so innocently. I was bored at work. You know how it is sometimes. Things get a little quiet, and the mind is apt to wander. I was just walking along when I found a handful of ear plugs. You know – the sort that defend your ears from loud noises. I noticed that they were pink and (quite frankly) rather penis-like. So, like any adult approaching his fifty-eighth birthday, I took one and drew a glans upon it. Then I added a simple face – and ,oh dear, I’d created a monster – because I fetched a few more, and these were born…

annoyed ear plugs

…and in doing so have reduced my writing time by at least half. Now I can’t keep my fingers out of my box of bits…

bits & pieces

…as my juvenile imagination finds new inspirations in all sorts of places – like here….

shooting earplugs

Here I’m setting up a shot of Rudi and Valentine at the controls of a flying saucer. And here’s the result…

using control panel

Don’t you just love the way their faces are illuminated by the ‘screen’?

I have to admit it – this is awfully addictive.

It’s a pity that my readers don’t feel the same way. Or maybe it isn’t: at this rate I’ll never get anything written!

About Tooty Nolan

Writer of silly tales, taker of pictures, and all round good egg
This entry was posted in Photography, Tooty Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Please, God – Not Another Distraction!

  1. Pingback: Fruitful Lunch-Breaking (or The Making of The Ear Plugs Day Out) | hamsterbritain.com (the incomplete works of Tooty Nolan)

Leave a Reply

